Click to donate



We depend upon the community of readers to support this effort to bring the issue of solitary confinement in the United States out of the shadows and into the public square. You can support Solitary Watch in both monetary and non-monetary ways. Solitary Watch News needs modest funding to keep it going and growing. We welcome donations of any amount. Solitary Watch is a project of the Community Futures Collective, a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization, which serves as its fiscal sponsor for all grants and donations. Donations to the Community Futures Collective are tax-deductible. To donate:

> Send a check made out to the Community Futures Collective, designated for Solitary Watch: Attn. Marina Drummer, Community Futures Collective, 221 Idora Ave., Vallejo, CA 94591.

> Make a secure, tax-deductible online donation through GuideStar’s Network for Good. Click here to go the Community Futures Collective page, then click on “Donate Now” and write “Solitary Watch” in the “Designation” field.

Solitary Watch is a collaborative endeavor. We also encourage readers to support the site in the following ways:

> Subscribe to Solitary Watch by email or in a reader. (Sign up in the sidebar.)

> Follow Solitary Watch on Facebook or Twitter, and subscribe to our videos on YouTube. (Click on the icons in the sidebar.) Share and retweet!

> Comment on posts to share information and perspectives.

Share Solitary Watch with currently and formerly incarcerated persons through our Print Edition, and encourage them to submit their stories to Voices from Solitary.

> Email or write us with your stories, ideas, resources, links, and suggestions for how to make Solitary Watch best serve the community on which it depends:



We extend sincere thanks to our past and present donors, whose generosity and belief in our work have made Solitary Watch possible.


The Achilles Foundation

The Alicia Patterson Foundation (fellowship to James Ridgeway)

Ben and Jerry’s Foundation

The Deutsch Foundation

Neil Getnick

The Flom Family Fund

The Langeloth Foundation

Ralph Nader

The Open Society Foundations (fellowship to Jean Casella and James Ridgeway)

The Overbrook Foundation

The Puffin Foundation

The Ramsay Merriam Fund

The Roddick Foundation

Jon Utley

William Zabel


The Adonai Foundation

The A.J. Muste Memorial Institute

Carol and Frank Biondi

Charissa Chu

Fritzi Cohen

Kenyon Cooke

Richard Estes

Pam Gilbert

Leah Gitter


Laura L. Rovner

Andy Shallal

Tom Shanks


Lois Ahrens • John Alcock •  Sofia Aranda • Amanda Aronczyk • Brandon B. Avery • Gayle Ayala • Quintin L. Bart • Christopher Beall • Jack Beck • Dale Bell • Pippa Bianco • Eve Bower • Margot Brinn • Rebecca Brown • Maria Browning • Jocelyn A. Burrell • Ray W. Cage • Ismail Cagee • Dolores Canales • Fr. Russ Carmichael • Simon Christie • Laura A. Clark • Therese Class • Bobby Cohen • Timothy W. Coursen • Megan Crowe-Rothstein • Alice J. Dan • Andrew G. Deman • Rachel Deutsch • William Dooley • Joan L. Duggan • Sally Eberhardt • Kate Edwards • Linda K. Engelberg • Bernadette Evangelist • Elspeth Farmer • David C. Fathi • Tamara Feingold-Link • Michael Fennell • Amy Fettig • Sara Marco Forrest • F. Frederic Fouad • Joshua Fuson • Jonathan Galli • Judy Garvey • Sherry L. Geno • Frances Geteles-Shapiro • D.J. Gill • Daniel Goldman • Dianna Goodwin • Suzanne Gordon • Susan Greene • Kristina Gronquist • Patricia Grossman • Lisa Guenther • Heather Hanko • Edward Hara • Umesh Heendeniya • James Huitema • Linda K. Jansen • Amanda Johnson • Rabbi Rachel Kahn-Troster • Kurt Kaiser • Janice M. Keller • Helene Kendler • Bonnie Kerness • Matthew Krumm • Terry Kupers • Frances Lang Labaree • The Landriscina family, in memory of Father Walter A. Mitchell • Thomas Lawrence • Teresa LeClercq • Laura Legge • Marc H. Levin • Deb Levine and Richard Foxall • John Liebau • Phillip Locke • Gabriel London • Peter Lovenheim • Chase Madar • Michael Matheron • John P. McKay • Carla B. McLean • Andrew J. McKenna • Jose Medina • Rebecca A. Melton • Alison Meyer • Judy Miekle • Arthur Milholland • Katie Mitchell • Michael Molitch-Hou • Valeria Monfrini • Amanda Moore • Teresa Morden • Yasmin Narayan • Dion Nania • Cynthia J. Otiso • Anne Otto • Lisa E. Overton • Ariel Page • Jennifer J. Parish • Patrick Paxton •  Robert Pfister • Barry Phillips • Eric Pilch • Vanessa Pronovost • Helen Redmond •  • Tom Robbins • Linda Rousseau • Carol Rubin • Sally Rumble • Selma A. Rayfiel • Richard A. Sanchez • Christine M. Sarteschi • Margo Schlanger • Cathy Schneider • Meryl Schwartz and David Weinraub • Sarah Shourd • Geri Silva • Evelyn Staus • Jackie Sumell • Stephen Tappis • Jefferson Taylor • Kathleen Taylor • Jeanne Theoharis • Joseph Thuemler • Jean R. Trounstine • Holland Vaughn • Sadhbh Walsh • Paul G. Warrick • Leonora Wiener • Rachel Weiss • Joel Weissburg • Lisa V. West • Emily Weserholm • David Wilhelm • Amy R. Willis • Janet L. Wolfe • Marilyn E. Wood • Lisa Wright • Jeffrey Vogel • Bonnie S. Young • Angelique Yoseloff • Michael Zagone • Tom Zerucha • Joan Zimmerman

Special thanks to Marina Drummer of the Community Futures Collective for her work, her wisdom, and her unflagging support. Thanks to members of our Advisory Board for their invaluable advice and support of Solitary Watch.

Finally, we wish to acknowledge the formerly incarcerated people who have shared with us their unique knowledge and experience, and the currently incarcerated people who have written to inform us about conditions in solitary, sometimes at considerable risk of retaliation.