Google+

Film, Video, and Audio

Radio and Podcasts

Clair Schoen (2009). “Survivors of Solitary Confinement.” National Radio Project, June 3: http://www.radioproject.org/2009/06/survivors-of-solitary-confinement/.

 Laura Sullivan (2008). “36 Years of Solitary” (series on Angola 3 case), October 27-29: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=96030547.

Laura Sullivan (2006). “Life in Solitary Confinement” (series of broadcasts and articles). National Public Radio, July 26-28: http://www.npr.org/series/5584841/life-in-solitary-confinement.

Dean Browne (2006). “Live from the Hole” (series of broadcasts from Maine State Prison supermax unit). WRFR Community Radio, January-October: http://www.penbay.org/wrfr/prisonproject/dbreports.html.

Deborah Davies/Channel 4 (UK)(2005). “Torture Inc.: America’s Brutal Prisons.” March 28: http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article8451.htm.

John Biewen and Stephen Smith (2000). “Jailing the Mentally Ill.” July: http://americanradioworks.publicradio.org/features/mentally_ill/index.html.

David Isay with Wilbert Rideau and Ron Wilkberg (1999). “Tossing Away the Keys.” Sound Portraits, April 29: http://www.soundportraits.org/on-air/tossing_away_the_keys/.

<>

Film and Video

Josh Rushing/Al Jazeera English (2010). “The Forgotten U.S. Patients.” Fault Lines, August 29: http://english.aljazeera.net/programmes/faultlines/2009/09/2009917132219605302.

Vadim Jean, Director (2010). In the Land of the Free: http://www.inthelandofthefreefilm.co.uk/

Berkeley News 21 (2010). Behind Bars: The California Convict Cycle (online series): http://berkeley.news21.com/behindbars/.

National Geographic Channel (2010). “Solitary Confinement.” National Geographic Explorer, April: http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/series/explorer/4819/Photos#tab-Overview/.

Scott Pelley/CBS News (2009). “Supermax: A Clean Version of Hell.” 60 Minutes, June 21: http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2007/10/11/60minutes/main3357727_page3.shtml?tag=contentMain;contentBody.

Reel Soldier Productions (2008). “Unlock the Box: Documenting the Struggle to Shut Down Prison Control Units”: http://www.abolishcontrolunits.org/movie.

Ofra Bikel, Producer/Director (2007). When Kids Get Life. Frontline: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/whenkidsgetlife/.

Susanne Mason, Producer/Director (2007), Writ Writer. Passage Productions/ITVS: http://www.writwritermovie.com/.

Miri Navasky and Karen O’Connor, Producers/Directors (2005). The New Asylums. Frontline: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/asylums/etc/synopsis.html.